Learning and teaching also takes place outside the school system. Though these types learning are not formal, still these kinds of learning also train us in some kinds of skills. For instance, some of the skills like learning how to swim, fishing, doing domestic work, values and beliefs are part of the community curriculum.

To begin with, the educations of young children are largely in hands of their parents. My mother taught me the kinship ties, correct manners, correct behavior, and some of the cooking skills. I learnt many construction skills as how to build canoes and houses from my father. My parents and the Indian priests also taught me the moral values such as respect, honesty, coöperation and the importance of a relationship. We learn all these so that we keep up our cultural identity. I also get to know about the importance of the teamwork. Through team work people are able to share ideas, bring their different strengths and finally are able to overcome with difficult issues.

In addition to above, my community mainly composed of Indian families. Therefore, every week is religious programs organized by our mandali and is performed at every house. By attending this religious occasion, I learnt to play some of the instruments such as dholak, harmonium, dhantal, and other Indian instruments. In addition, l tried reading our holy script ‘The Ramayana’ and the hymns that go with it. I learnt my mother tongue and how to behave according to the situations.

Moreover, Fiji is a multicultural society. I have learnt a lot of form socializing and interacting with people from other cultural groups. Such interactions enable me to learn more about other culture, their values and beliefs and their ways of doing things. In addition, I got a chance to take part in other cultural group’s festival such as Eid and Easter. I also benefited by learning about the traditional stories that are cooperated in the dance of other cultural groups. As such, I manage to broaden my thinking and knowledge by understanding and respecting other ways of doing things.

Furthermore, my grandparents spend time reciting ancestral ties, folktales and family history to me. Thus, I learnt more about my cultural background and what all my family was expecting from me. My grandparents also taught me how to weed plantations and to do vegetable farming, sugarcane farming, and some other types of farming. Usually my grandparents demonstrated the tasks and I copied whatever they did. In this way, I learnt a lot and their skills benefited me a lot. Eventually l learnt all the different fishing styles in which my village people use to catch fish. My grandparents also do goat and sheep farming, so they usually tech me how to take good care of these animals. I also got to know about the kinds of grasses that are planted for these animals and how to keep these goats and sheep healthy and fresh for sales.

Finally, the world is becoming technologically advance. Thus, I learnt a lot through media. I am able to get the latest news about what all happens around me. Also, I learnt a lot by watching television and movies. Therefore, it can be said that the most of the basic, worthwhile learning we use in life is the result of informal education that is what we learn from home and the society. It is one form of education that we would not manage without.

